What's new
What's new

Modular 10ee speed control pot

swellwelder

Stainless
I was having trouble with controlling the spindle rpm on my 1965 modular 10ee. So figuring it must be the max speed pot, ordered a new one from Monarch. After taking a good look at the pot still in the lathe, decided to look into replacing the six strand cable that runs from the pot to the module.

Opened up the module cover, and found that the six wires from the speed pot were dis-connected:confused:

What makes this even more head scratching, I had spindle rpm control from basically zero rpm to approx 1000 rpm even with this pot not connected. Above this approx 1000 rpm the spindle would accelerate un-controlled until it shut itself down.

Is there something else connected to the speed control knob that controls spindle rpm? Sure does not seem to be, but something was controlling slower rpm. I have been using it this way for over 6 months without any odd quirks except the limited speed control

Dale

The speed control isn't just one pot, it's 2 pots. One pot controls the armature voltage, the second (connected) pot controls the field voltage. While the armature voltage increases to the maximum the field stays at full voltage, after the armature is at max voltage the field starts to decrease. This is done by having the second half of the armature pot shorted and the first half of the field pot shorted.

I suspect that what's you're seeing is a minimal armature voltage and some field change (assuming that the field pot is connected) causing the speed change, and when the field disappears the motor is running away (this, BTW, is a really bad idea and can lead to the motor disassembling itself). But there's really not a lot of description to go on.

rke[pler