What's new
What's new

Monarch 16cw questions

kiddcaprix

Plastic
Hello all, My name is Adam. This weekend a very generous fellow by the name of Eric Richards handed off to me a beautiful 1943 Monarch 16"CW. I am so thrilled that she has fallen into my lap. The old girl had been sitting outside (covered) for quite some time. She will be going back to work soon. I also got the original tail stock and a 3 jaw chuck as well. He has a tool post and tooling for me also, I just have to dig it out of his barn. This beautiful lady came to me at no cost but only a condition of getting her back working again and treating her right. With that said, I have a few things to work out. The spindle lever brackets are all broke and will have to be welded and addressed. I am new to Monarchs but know of them so I will be learning as I go. She didn't seem to have a chip tray or coolant pump installed ever. Was that an option to not have one? Also, on the spindle lever, I don't have the support bracket or lever that attaches on the carriage. Being that this is only 30" between centers, would it of had one anyway? I have searched thru the posts on this forum and saw some links to manuals and brochures, but they were all broken and mostly 5+ years old. Does anyone have any pdfs that they would be willing to share on this machine? I would be very thankful. I will be asking and reading a lot in the upcoming months as I get her in the shop and fired up. Anybody know the original color? Thanks for any info that you can give. I appreciate it.

Regards,
Adam

20170715_175302.jpg20170715_175313.jpg

Check out Vintage Machinery they have some Monarch manuals/literature in there collection.
At 30 inches I don't think it would have had a carriage clutch, at least I have never seen them on the short units.
I seem to see lots of Monarch transmission levers broken right at the hinge point of the lever.