What's new
What's new

Monarch EE -- looking for pricing / disposition guidance..

MetaKey

Plastic
Hello, newbie here..

I have a Monarch EE and some tooling that I am thinking of selling and I have no idea what these machines are worth these days. I see prices all over the map and most of those are asking prices, not final sale prices.

I'm hoping I can get some feedback on what the setup might be worth. Obviously, actual condition cannot be assessed with a few pictures -- I get that. But any sort of guidance will be welcome and will help me decide how to move forward..

MonarchEE.jpg

Many more pics available at the following web address (may be slow to load, lots of pics):

Empty Blue Sky - Monarch EE

Thank you for reading and best regards,
MetaKey

Don't know but I would think your DC drive may damage the DC motor. Usually the field and armature run on totally different voltages. That is why the motor generator unit has two generators. One developing 240-280V and the other 110V.

yup, prices are all over the map. I'm thinking yours it not the $30K garden variety. However, yours is nicely "tooled" and even though it is an early round dial variety (I believe) with a gutted drive It must be worth something like $5K.....what say you forum members?

Don't know but I would think your DC drive may damage the DC motor. Usually the field and armature run on totally different voltages. That is why the motor generator unit has two generators. One developing 240-280V and the other 110V.

Not yet clear which motor he has. A 1941 would probably have been the "inline exciter" MG unit.

Some of those (JLewis has one..) had 200-230 VDC fields rather than 115 VDC.

Odd, too the mention of not reversing. 10EE use Armature-reversing, AND NOT Field Reversing (lower current involved, but slower acting).