What's new
What's new

Monarch AA headstock oil pump not working

Mike Lucius

Plastic
I just bought a Monarch AA lathe and the oil pump in the headstock isn't pumping oil. I'm going to drain the oil and flush it with kerosene so I can hopefully find out the problem. Does anyone on this forum have any suggestions as to what I might look for/do to get it working. I'm completely new to it and have not been able to find a manual or any other information that might steer me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for any and all help, advice, or suggestions.

Last edited by a moderator:
Tell us how you know its not working. There are (at least in my CW) metering plugs that can get stopped up

To see if my pump was working, I disconnected the oil lines from the metering plugs

Thanks johnoder, I could see in the sight glass that no oil was pumping so I took the top off the headstock and disconnected that line from the manifold. I probably should have, after seeing your response, kept on going. I'm going to continue on like you've suggested and see what I can find.

Lowest speeds or you will get more of a oil bath with the cover off. Pump has one "cycle" each time the spindle makes a turn - since it is the plunger style

I removed the metering plugs and made sure they were clear and the plunger on the pump looks to be working as it should but still no oil pumping. I did run a soft brass wire through the discharge line down to the pump and it's clear as near as I can tell but still not pumping oil so I'm about at a standstill. Looks like the only way to get to the pump is to remove the spindle. Is there a better way to get at it? I sure hope so but I'm not seeing it. Thanks again.