What's new
What's new

reliance motor problems

perky

Plastic
ok I finally got around to rewraping my field coils with # 27 3m tape and glyptol . Motor worked fine when i took it out. Insulation was half gone on field coils. On the bench i was reading 73 ohms at f1 and f2 and infinite on other poles. Put the motor in and i have bad brush sparking and motor only runs in reverse at slow speed. Now my readings are 54.6 ohms on f1 and f2 . A1 to f1 is 1.7 ohms and 1.6 at a1 to f2 . I am not very good at electric and would appreciate any help. thanks

sounds like the insulation was so badly deteriorated that just handling the coils caused turn to turn shorts. Perhaps others have better suggestions, but it sounds like it is now a motor shop rebuild job.
Tom

I seemed to have fixed some of my problem. I refitted the brushes to the commutator and now it runs up to speed in forward but a little rough in reverse. Does anybody know where to get new brushes? My forward problem was the contactor in dc panel. I think with some new brushes and some brush timing i might have it licked. Thank you for the replies.

Monarch can supply motor brushes. They are a regular expendable service item, if you're going to use the machine keep a spare set on hand. And, who knows how long those original equipment items will be available?

Don't cobble up brushes unless it's an emergency, they all may look similar but they're not. Composition of brushes varies widely by application. The wrong brush composition can damage your motor very quickly.