What's new
What's new

Want a Monarch 10EE

beeser

Cast Iron
I have a desire to own a Monarch 10EE primarily because it was the machine used in college many years ago but also because they are just plain cool looking. I'm not a machinist by trade but after retiring as a mechanical engineer I've ventured into wood and metal working hobbies. I have a Bridgeport mill and the Monarch seems like it would be a good addition to my shop. How can I get started in finding the right machine for me? What years are better than others? What price can I expect to pay? Etc?

Get the newest one you can find with lots of tooling.
!970's. Single oil level sight glass in the headstock.
Expect to pay $15,000 to $20,000.

Not gonna be close to wore out yet.

While it's less likely to have as much wear I would point out that a 50's 10EE from a tool room would have a lot less wear than a 70's machine from production. Naturally I bought a 50's 10EE from production, so I'm not one to complain loudly.

I'd suggest looking around at a lot of 10EEs, maybe visiting folks to see theirs and get a feel for the lathes before making a choice. Get a good feeling for the lathe and how it should feel. My choice would be a lathe with a bunch of tooling and some wear over a lower wear lathe with no tooling. Having to buy a decent 3 jaw, 4 jaw, center rest, follower rest, tool post and tailstock tooling is going to land you in the 2K area if you pick them up individually, but for some reason they're often almost thrown into the deal when buying the lathe they were used with.

I'd focus on lathes with a lot of cosmetic wear, and look for one with little real wear on the bed. Ignore any with a Rustoleum Rebuild.