What's new
What's new

Embed data in a Cognex image?

motion guru

Diamond
I have an application where I want to take an image with a Cognex camera and conduct an inspection and then record pass/fail along with the location of the artifact that was imaged. The location information can be sent via. ProfiNet to the camera / vision system.

I am a total newb with Cognex vision systems and thought I would see if there are any experts here who can guide me in this effort.

I have to inspect several hundred artifacts on a large part and I want to be able to identify every image by X,Y location embedded into the image if possible.

I have an application where I want to take an image with a Cognex camera and conduct an inspection and then record pass/fail along with the location of the artifact that was imaged. The location information can be sent via. ProfiNet to the camera / vision system.

I am a total newb with Cognex vision systems and thought I would see if there are any experts here who can guide me in this effort.

I have to inspect several hundred artifacts on a large part and I want to be able to identify every image by X,Y location embedded into the image if possible.

I'm not aware of being able to "edit" the image to add anything to it, but with the new Vision Pro systems it may be possible. For sure it should be possible on a secondary computer using data from the camera sent to that computer via the ftp command. You can format a string of info to send to a txt file from your vision program. There is a limit on the length of the string you can send. We use this to to record 2d Data Matrix grading information from each part and save the image separately with a time-stamped file name.