What's new
What's new

Ideas for End Effector for Gantry style 2 or 3 axis loader - Brainstorming stage

rollerman13

Plastic
Good Morning Guys,

I very much enjoy reading through this forum for all sorts of information regarding manufacturing. It is such a great resource and I want to thank everyone that contributes for their help in creating such a great resource to the manufacturing world.

I oversee the manufacturing and engineering at a small company - roughly 40 employees - and I have been recently reading up on automation in high mix, low volume type operations. Obviously, these can be tricky situations in which to leverage automation.

My background is in mechanical engineering - I have been out of school and working at this company for 6 years now so I am by no means a seasoned veteran, but wouldn't consider myself a green newbie either with respect to our niche of manufacturing. Our niche involves 95% of our work done on lathes, we do very little milling, and the milling work we do is extremely basic - think keyways on shafts, and wrench flats.

With that said, I will be spending a portion of my time in the next few months researching the viability of implementing robotics with one of our CNC lathes for production. This would be our first attempt at implementation. The parts we would make in this process are all turned from Hot Rolled Steel - mainly mild carbon. And they range from 3" diameter to 8" diameter stock size. Their lengths can range from a couple inches to let's say 40". If you're familiar with this finish of steel it is neither terribly round, straight, or finished at the nominal size (it is generally slightly larger). There is no repeatability with respect to the order in which these sizes need to be machined. We are a custom shop and today's size parts will differ from tomorrow's. I've attached a picture of our Round Stock lineup just for clarity. These are obviously cut before being loaded into the CNC Lathes.