What's new
What's new

PLC Programming Resources?

Spyderedge

Titanium
The company I work for uses A-B Micrologix 1000 PLC controllers to run any machine we can't run on switches and relays. My boss's brother in law, an electrical engineer by trade, used to program everything, but he passed away last year and we didn't think to have him explain to us how it all worked.

We just finished building a new machine, and we need it programmed. I have successfully connected the PLC to our laptop with Rslogix and have created the driver. No matter what I read, no tutorial on programming really makes all this stuff make sense. Are there any resources out there for people like me? I'm pretty good with computers for the most part, but for some reason I can't seem to really grasp how this all works.

I'll have to ask my community college to see if any professors are willing to lend a student a hand even if I'm not taking one of their courses.

Thanks guys.

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk

A-B charges for help, unlike most other vendors.
They can point you to an integrator.
You can take A-B cla$$e$.

Iirc you can buy a service that includes access to their course materials and online resources.

Another option is to look for a local integrator that can help you out . . . typical hourly rates for this kind of work are between $100 - $200 / hour depending on the experience and technical complexity of the application.

A couple of basic PLC Ladder Logic classes would probably get you where you need to be to hack something together, but producing maintainable / easy to read and troubleshoot code really requires some experience with defining a good state logic engine with Auto/manual modules along with fault handling / Alarm / Safety modules + good practices with tagname definitions, use of one-shots, timers, etc.