What's new
What's new

recommended e stop practices

Jason H

Stainless
I have a PLC controlling a VFD in an on/off, forward / reverse situation. Is it better to put the Estop as part of the PLC or the VFD?

Yes I am new at this.

Thanks

Jason

Depends on what motivates you with respect to safety . . .

1.) Looking an operator's spouse in the eye when you explain why the operator has lost a (limb, eye, life . . . fill in the blank here).

2.) Answering the lawyer as they pepper you with questions about a hazard / risk analysis, category I, II and III safety standards, safe-off, zero energy, bla bla bla

Here is how we do it . . .

Safety Rated E-STOP Button (dual contacts, forced contact open) -> Safety PLC or Safety Relay (Pilz is a good source for safety relays) -> Drive (PLC receives notification via. status output from the Safety Relay)

Depending on your hazard / risk analysis (documented with your safety committee) you need to classify CAT 1, 2 or 3 stop required - then you design the system per the requirements of those safety standards.

Cat 1 - wire the SAFETY RATED enable on the drive to the Safety Relay directly for immediate disabling of the drive.

all the way to . . .

Cat 3 - wire the immediate output contact on the Safety Relay to the SAFE STOP input on the drive to cause a current limited stop. Wire the time delayed output from the relay to the Safety Rated drive enable to shut off the IGBT so that current cannot go to the motor.

You should educate yourself on safety standards - if you are building machinery that does not include a well designed safety rated system - you are asking for liability that no insurance company will step up and write coverage for . . . and you do have product liability insurance don't you?

You do all of this and you will be in a much better position to eliminate the hazard and dramatically decrease the chance of injury.

MG is spot on.