What's new
What's new

Universal Robotics who has used them? will i hate life vs. nachi/abb?

vettedude

Stainless
I have a machine tending application and I am currently expecting a quote from nachi for the application. However, i have recently given more thought to using a universal robotics device. The selling point of universal is no guarding, i really do not want to put up guarding we have NO room.

I like ABB as an option because they are in Houston and i can get training and support in Houston. Nachi has been very supportive and seems interested in our applications.

The application is purely machine tending swap a part in and out of a machine and pick up the finished parts. Thousands of parts in a run, over a few days.

I have no robotics experience, but I am familiar with automation/mechatronics.

I also have read in passing that universal does not have a built in PLC, or I/O. Is this true? How does it talk to the machine without that.

We have had UR in to demo their unit.
Very nice, slow.... but no guarding, and the ability to easily move around the shop is a big plus.

From what I recall, there was a teach pendant, and a laptop involved.
I would imagine it would be fairly easy to integrate using dprint function on fanuc, or relays and mcodes on other control types.

Why not have them in for a demo?

Biggest constraint I found was payload and acceleration ability. Your mileage may vary. My experience is going back probably 5 years now...

I suggest getting giving Kawasaki a call also. We have quite a few Nachi and they are much more expensive to maintain. Every collaborative robot I've looked at just wouldn't work well for machine tending. The accuracy and rigidity doesn't seem to be there and then there is the speed penalty.

vettedude,