What's new
What's new

Vision Systems

3t3d

Diamond
Can anyone offer some opinions on the different Vision systems available?

Banner And Cognex seem to be the bigger ones I've seen.

I want to inspect syringes to make sure the plastic cap is properly clicked on the end. The cap might be missing, or not clicked on all the way.

Talking to an applications engineer for Banner, he was suggesting the P4 GEO unit.

I am completely new to this, but somehow I am thinking the Edge unit is more appropriate. It seems that the way to detect a partially installed cap is to measure the distance from the edge of the cap to the edge of the bottom of the barrel. Thus an edge analysis.

There is a Banner iVu, with a built in display with touch screen. I tend to think that that is a good failure point, and if the built in screen is down inside the machine, hard to see. There is a remote screen option, for about $500 more.

I tried find more on-line description of the functions of the Banner, to understand the EDGE,Blob, etc. tools.

Are there other brands/models I should look into?

From working with both systems, without a doubt go with Cognex. The Banner is a low-cost system with very limited functionality, I don't think it would make you happy, I know it didn't for us and we were doing a really simple application. This has been a couple years ago and I'm sure Banner has improved them, but Cognex is the cat's meow for vision. You'll be much happier with it. We have 50+ Cognex and they are very reliable units. I think we still have one old 2000 system running (circa 2002 or so) that we've not upgraded yet, because there is no real need for it.
The Cognex has all kinds of tools in the software that make your life easy and very reliable for vision for an application like you describe.
They aren't cheap, I'll grant that, but we wouldn't buy anything else now. We are actually using the line-scan versions to inspect parts for defects. You would be surprised at what you can do with them.