What's new
What's new

Replacing Gearbox on Automated Door system

Fellowcraft

Plastic
Hello All,

I am a novice with respect to PLC's, position sensors, etc. so please forgive me if this question seems juvenile. I have to replace a gear box on a system which open and closes a very heavy door. There is a motor which contains its own gear box (100:1 ratio), and this is attached via a coupling to a right angle gear box which requires replacing. This box has a position sensor on the end of its shaft which determines when the door is fully open, which will have to be attached to the new gear box. My question is--if this sensor is screwed in or out a turn or more when it is attached to the box, will this affect the travel? Also, if the motor is manually rotated, will this also affect it with respect to the PLC? Please find attached a picture of the sensor attached to the shaft, as well as the shaft at 90 degrees in the coupling which the motor is also attached to (not shown). Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Attachments

• 20140919_130839[1].jpg
    20140919_130839[1].jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 182
  • 20140919_130940[1].jpg
    20140919_130940[1].jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 208