What's new
What's new

Largest suitable chuck on a Schaublin 102?

corlm

Plastic
Hello,

I've looked around some for information but haven't really found information about it. I'm a beginner when it comes to this.

I've recently bought a Schaublin 102 and looking to replace the chuck. Is it possible to have a chuck that is to large in regards to weight? I've found a 6-jaw that is 160 mm diameter and with the jaws fully extended it's 204 mm. That sounds like it's as big as it could get and still be functional, the weight however is 10,5 Kg. The chucks that I got with the lathe are all 100-125 mm. Would a 125 be more suitable?

I wouldn't want to run one that large. I think 125 is plenty of chuck on a 102 and if you look at the catalog they only came with a max 130 for a 3 jaw. A really light 4 jaw was 150. I feel bad about my scroll/independent 100mm 4 jaw for that matter.

The beauty of these machines is with collets anyway :) I would put a 160mm chuck on my much larger 135 but not on a 102.
Luke

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

I really like the maprox style of 6 jaw chuck, they are only for light work and are expensive as hell but they work really slick.
L

I've mainly been looking at Bison-Bial chucks and the 125 mm version weighs 6,2 Kg. I'd be very interested in the weight of the chucks that Shaublin offered.

Which spindle do you have? The w20 chucks max around 5kg. I would be looking at used chucks, new ones are rather expensive if they are any good.
L

I've mainly been looking at Bison-Bial chucks and the 125 mm version weighs 6,2 Kg. I'd be very interested in the weight of the chucks that Shaublin offered.

I just recently bought a NOS plain-back Bison/Bial nominal 6" 7-850-0600 that the cheap LCD scale here sez weighs 10 lbs, Avoir, (4.55 kg?) with its four face-mounting bolts and bottom half of the pasteboard box.