What's new
What's new

Schaublin 102TO restoration

Nozomi

Plastic
Hi all,

I recently bought a Schaublin 102TO from the 60's (bench model with reduction gear w25 spindle) which I
planned to restore and put in use in my hobby workshop.
Here I want to document the project and ask for opinions and technical knowledge.

This is my first post, so I will introduce myself first before going on topic.
I have been reading and learned allot from the PM forums, thanks all!
If you don’t like long posts, stop reading here!!! this is gonna be a long one ;)

I work as an electronics engineer and have been playing with electronics (designing and making pcb's,
programming, …) since forever. The last 5 years or so I started to like mechanical engineering more and
more and specially instrumentation, precision parts and mechatronics. I am always collecting tools and
machines which I use in my too small hobby workshop.

As for machines at the moment I have the following:
- Small shop tools, grinders, bench drill, horizontal band saw, …
- Chinese lathe (270 x 700 mm)
- Optimum BF20L converted to CNC with steppers and ballscrews (ongoing project)

Below a few pictures, planning to move into a bigger workshop soon.

q7clw9z.jpg

kgN80XQ.jpg

Recently I have allot of interest in watchmaking and am totally addicted to the work and books of George
Daniels. As it happend I found 2 nice lathes in a short period of time, a G.Boley 8mm watchmakers lathe,
but thats for another thread, and a Schaublin 102TO.

Now on topic: the Schaublin 102TO I'm restoring

This is my first quality machine tool and I am very impressed with the overall fit and finish and
tolerances. I did some initial measurements on the geometry and all seems to be very nice, I will check
geometry after reassembling the lathe and correct at that time if necessary. Apart from the paint and the
grease used for the bearing the lathe looks to be in good condition. I read up allot on the 102 before