What's new
What's new

Product Liability Insurance

ewlsey

Diamond
Does anyone here have product liability insurance? I called around today trying to get a quote and only one place would even consider it. Most were fine with insuring the shop until I said that we do design work and make our own products.

I have insurance now, but not product liability. It's getting to be a big part of our business, so I want to cover my ass.

I'm not making airplanes, pieces of airplanes, guns, race cars, or anything that seems inherently dangerous. We design and build fixtures and tools for other shops and manufacturers. They are all used by professionals.

I'm a degreed mechanical engineer with 10 years experience. I do all of the design work.

Any thoughts? It basically sounded like no one would cover us for product liability unless we already had product liability coverage. How are you supposed to get the coverage started?

My advice is get a good insurance broker, have him/her do the work, they seem to have access to companies we'll never hear of.

I just turned down something I was gonna get into because the insurance cost made it unjustifiable.

Good luck.

Does anyone here have product liability insurance? I called around today trying to get a quote and only one place would even consider it...

Commercial liability insurance is mostly limited to slip-and-fall coverage. Insuring your company against liability for products you design would be extremely costly and would involve a lot of exclusions (and I don't wanna think about the deductible). Ask an OB-GYN about malpractice insurance; in some fields the malpractice insurance premium can amount to a third of the doctor's earnings. They pass it along to their patients, but in the competitive world of machining that's usually not an option.