What's new
What's new

Another new shop thread, but I'm different(I think).

Clifford098

Plastic
Hey everybody. I hope your day is going well as you stumble across my post. So, I am another guy who is posting about opening my own shop, but how do I go about writing this? Please bear with me.. as I may be a little flustered while posting this.
My situation is this. I have been a machinist since I have been 19 years old. I am now 33. I have only worked with Swiss. For the first 2 years of my career I operated stars and tsunami. I didn't program them and started setting up just before I ended up at my most recent employer. There, there is only citizen and my primary job is to set up and program. I am familiar with many different operations.. he'll... probably everything that you can do on a Swiss. I can troubleshoot the machine and make repairs( I always shadowed service when they have visited). I never really got on the job training and always had to teach myself. I made my own problems and I fixed my own problems. I even ran 5 machines by myself under nobody's supervision for the first 3 years there. Everyone that I work with looks up to me and always tells me that I'm a great teacher. The problem here is that I don't think I'm a wizard or anything.. I've always had to fly by the seat of my pants and do what I had to do to make a quality part in an acceptable cycle time. That's another thing. Once I learned how to program.. I was cutting cycle times by 60 percent without killing quality. Not necessarily through more agreessive machining.. but through different approaches.
I'm not one of these guys who has machining down to a science. I can make it work and I always do. The problem I'm facing is that I only know how to program with the mitsubishi and fanuc controls on citizens. I guess I'm used to ,C and , A etc.. instead of trigging out my own shit.. but I have partmaker for that... which I'm good with.