What's new
What's new

Co-workers not doing the right thing...

crb06

Aluminum
How do you deal with multiple people "bullying" or even just "pranking" you at work? I have multiple times that I have had my personal tools hidden from me because I am an apprentice so I am fairly new to the company that I am working for. They also like to tell me to do the wrong thing or tell me to use the wrong thing so I will mess up...is there any tips that I can do to help cutdown on this?

Get out of there. This is the 21st century. There is no reason to put up with that level of garbage. Your peers should be setting a good example of professionalism and respect, not... this.

It is hard to find a job with limited experience, unfortunately. Perhaps document these incidents and bring it up with a supervisor.

I'm all for fun and having a good time, but messing with someone else's personal tools is complete and utter nonsense. The type of "fun" befitting belligerent teenagers out late at night.

And, your "esteemed, experienced colleagues" instructing you to do the wrong thing shows a complete lack of care on their part towards the company. I bet they wouldn't be doing it if they had to pay for your screwups - that they induced.

The fact that you don't know what "journey out" means leads me to believe that you are not in a real apprenticeship program. Are you an apprentice or just the new guy? The behavior you describe and your lack of knowledge leads me to believe that you have been decieved and think that all FNGs are all apprentices. Are You? In my experience any place with a real apprentice program would not have this shit going on. It wasn't tolerated when I was an apprentice and my union would not tolerate it now. Advise us of your real status and what body sanctions your apprenticeship.