Dealing with people who have _no_ mechanical aptitude - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Dualkit View Post
    You must have been like Bam-Bam on the Flintstones, I wouldn't think a 3 year old would have the strength to crank a jack.
    It took about a half hour, and it wasn't easy.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Missouri
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I was a printer by trade. I have seen printers that worked fir 30 years and struggled with the machine every day. I have seen engineers that couldn't hold a wrench yet we're writing production procedures. These are expensive for a company. They continue to work against each other.
    I looked for the pressman that always had his press clicking along and didn't fight it. I asked to work with him. The pressman that trained me was always busy smoking a joint out on the dock.
    When I became the pressman and trainer I told the trainee I'm going to show you how I do it and expect you to do it that way. Then said after your on your own you may see a better way and can do it your way.
    Our brains are all wired different. Some people can look right at a problem and never see the solution. Hand them a broom
    I moved to Salt Lake City in the early 80s to help in the startup of a check printing company. The young men I was training were just returning from their year mission. Most had no mechanical experience and were a bit spoiled in attitude. I had one tell me he was here to run a printing press when I asked him to sweep. I gave him every cleanup job I could find. He turned out to be a pretty good pressman and was training new guys when I left.