What's new
What's new

Help me pick a job tittle

Ive been a machinist for about 18 years and was recently promoted to running our shop where I work at.
I say I was promoted, but there were no fancy tittles, it was more a case of
"you run the shop now, here's a raise".

Tittles have always been meaningless to me, and even more so where I work at because we all do what we can to benefit the company. Never the less I have always been a "machinist" plain and simple, and was happy still being called a machinist until I moved more into this position.

Now the more I deal with suppliers and tooling companies I find myself repeatedly being asked what my position is. One conversation with a tool salesman the other day actually went something like this:

Salesman: So what's your position with the company?
Me: I'm a machinist
Salesman: Well, I'll need to talk to a supervisor who makes the purchase decisions
Me: That would be me. I'll evaluate and test the tool decide if it's for us.
Salesman: Oh, I'm sorry, I thought you were "just" a machinist. (his words)

So, my question is what tittle would be a good one when when dealing with customers, vendors, etc.? Something that is direct and still shows that I'm a machinist (it's a matter of pride for me). What I have so far is:

Machine Shop Supervisor
Machinist Supervisor
Shop Supervisor
Head honcho of the metal makers and chip slingers (my personal favorite)

I always tagged myself as "Production Manager" when I ran somebody else's shop. I think it was because I was the only one that managed to produce anything:rolleyes5:.

Foreman or supervisor tends to make you look like your not a decision maker, just a babysitter. "general manager" makes you sound too much like a general manager, which means you couldn't tell an endmill from a crack pipe.

I like MudFlaps ideas also.

And tell the Salesman if he wants to sell anything to you company he will have to go through you.

SM

And the winner is...this one.