What's new
What's new

Help! receiving less than minimum wage

jedpettitt100

Plastic
Hi I am an entry level machinist in Visalia California. I have learned a lot in the few months I've been here. However I just checked into my bank account because it's direct deposit and I am getting less than minimum wage. State and local minimum wage is $11 a company that has less than 26 employees must pay $10.50 I would fall in that category, I am receiving $10/h. Is this legal? How should I approach the situation? Should I look into another shop before talking to the boss in case he just let's me go? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

My wife has direct deposit and it only shows the amount deposited, not the paystub.
Are you accounting for all the withholdings?

I suggest you go file a grievance with your shop steward. BTW, how do you know your boss isn't a member of this forum. Think about it, how many machine shops can there be in Visalia paying trainees $10 an hour. Not going to be too hard to figure out who you are.

How should I approach the situation?

I thought it was required to have a printed paper on the wall explaining all that stuff. The sheet of paper is supposed to come from the state. Describes your rights as a worker and compensation rates, etc. There would be contact information. Start from there. Visit another shop and see what they post on the walls. A break room or hallway is probably where it would be.

Minimum wage is before taxes and insurance. Check your paystub before going any further.

Bingo! Your bank account will only reflect net. Didn't they teach you about the difference between gross and net pay in High School?