What's new
What's new

Hiring Questions

welder691

Plastic
Hello all. I have a question about shop owners/managers hiring someone. I have been a welder for 10 years now, and in the fall I am going to back to school for machinist training. It's a short but good program from what I have heard. I know I'm not fresh out of high school, but if I would come to your shop for an interview, would you frown upon me wanting to enter the machinist side of metal working? What would you expect an apprentice to be able to accomplish? Any tips you could offer would be great as well.

Thank You,
Chris

A couple suggestions... Pay as much attention as you can during your education. Read every resource available, (especially machine manuals), and ask your instructors for clarification on anything you do not understand. Don't feel for a minute that you are putting the instructors at any inconvenience. This is your dime, and your time. Make the most of it by demanding an excellent classroom education. Once you're finished with school, be prepared to explain your interest to employers in learning from folks who make a living in this trade. It's a great way to make a living, and congratulations on your choice to pursue it. Once you're in the apprentice job market be enthusiastic in your communications with prospective employers. Convince them that you will make money for them, through constant effort. Don't forget to mention your welding skills, as they are likely a plus, to any business doing welding work in-house. Best of luck.