What's new
What's new

How do you handle "Setup Sheets"?

tbm0115

Plastic
In my previous job as a 5-Axis Laser Operator, I came into the company right before they began transferring setup sheets "online". The department's engineer developed a nifty Excel workbook that handled revisions and was very well organized. However, they still printed the setup sheets before each job. Ultimately defeating part of the purpose for going "paperless"...

I'm at a new shop now and they're still working with hand written setup sheets. Granted, they scan each setup sheet so they are backed up on the server, it is a burden to update any setup sheets. This inevitably leads to poorly written setup sheets.

My task is to implement a Setup Sheet "Site". So far, I've created a simple web page with a list of machines. The operator simply needs to provide the Job and Step/Operation numbers and the site redirects to the setup sheet page. Each setup sheet is comprised of part/job information, a tool list, and operations. The setup sheet can have virtually an infinite number of tools and operations. Each operation is comprised of appropriate fixture information, images, and operational notes.

I've made it this far with as mixture of my personal experience and the feedback from the machinists at this shop. But, I'm curious if anyone else has conjured up (or found) a similar solution and what might make it better than what I've created.

Capture0.jpgCapture1.jpgCapture2.jpgCapture3.jpg

It sounds like you have it pretty much covered.

TBH I usually just take pictures with my phone and pictures of my notes. Then Email them to myself (as a means to back them up). With the Part #/customer/description.

But i usually work by myself.

setup sheet