What's new
What's new

Need advice on quoting!

SharkTamer

Plastic
I'm completely new to quoting and accepting jobs. I have my own lathe and mill and place to work so I've been advertising and cold calling and I have my first request for a quote. If it was just for a single piece I wouldn't be as worried as I am but this is for 1000 pieces. I'd have a lot of time and a little money invested in material. My questions are 1. How do >you< quote jobs normally? hourly rate x hours estimated for work + material? Do you add sales tax separately or include it into the price of the job? 2. Do you ask for a percentage of money in advance? And/or do you have some time of form signed like an invoice for work to be completed with the final price and other details on it? Any advice pertaining to quoting and the process of accepting a job is appreciated. Thanks.

Hi SharkTamer:
I built a spreadsheet in Excel that I use to quote the work we do, and I've found it very worthwhile even though my business partner scorns it and prefers to guess differently than I do.

I have a bunch of one-time costs that I estimate, and a bunch of cycle time costs that I estimate.
Since I have the important ones written into the spreadsheet I tend not to overlook them, and I can name and estimate every operation separately if I think it's necessary.

Some operations will kill you if you don't watch it, and I've become aware what they are; for example lots of drilled and tapped holes always take longer than you think, especially if they are on several part faces and are several different sizes.
Ditto for tight tolerances between features that are created in different setups; for me going through all that makes me more aware of what I'm up against; especially when the part run sizes grow and I'm trying to compete with marginally competitive equipment.