What's new
What's new

Online Presence - Opensource Website(Etomite1.1) and Online Store (OpenCart)

Wade C

Stainless
Here is some of what I know about setting up your own online presence both website and online store info. Its limited to what I know, which really is limited, but as I find I need something, the two different applications I use have great community support and its fairly easy to find help or learn to do it yourself.

I’m not a great “teacher” or “technical writer” so I ask for your forgiveness in advance. I’m sure I will miss things, explain some things poorly, or out right miss important aspects of the process. Feel free to ask any questions, correct me, or suggest things for the benefit of others. Ill do my best, but again, I’m really only familiar with the specifics of what I have done and features that I have used or needed, and learned them accordingly. I am no expert in any way, I have learned all this stuff with help from a friend and a bunch of forum reading. So if you’re at least someone computer literate, and able to teach yourself from online forums and support pages, you really can do about anything you put your mind to. Fortunately, most of the “goodies” people want on their sites are not that difficult. It’s the fancy stuff that can get little interesting.

Here is sort of a Table of Contents that I will try and follow.

• Web hosts, hosting, Domain names and registration
  • General theories of layout
  • CMS (Content Management System) Etomite version 1.1
  • Uploading and setup
  • General explanation of some modifications and features of Etomite
  • Online Store: OpenCart (I am currently using version 1.4.7 because I haven’t had the guts to try and upgrade to 1.4.9b – but suggest if you are starting from scratch – start with 1.4.9b)
  • Uploading and setup
  • Features, Modules, and customization
  • General thoughts on the process and things I learned “the hard way”