What's new
What's new

OT?- Volunteering Time and/or Shop Resources to Help Inspire School-Age Kids...

charlie gary

Stainless
... to Want Jobs in Manufacturing

OK, my thread title exceeded the text box limits.

The thing that sparked me to start this thread was a phone call from a guy I've built high school robot parts with for the last nine years. When we first met he had a high school freshman daughter who was on a First Robotics team, and I was a guy who got a call from the technical college I graduated from and serve on the advisory council for asking if I could help these kids build robot parts because the shop that had been helping them was too busy to do so any more.

The first year we met at the school on Saturdays for a few months while the kids designed and built robots for competition with parts I machined in the shop with the help of a couple other guys associated with the school's machine shop class. The next year we put together a class for the kids and enrolled them as students so they could go out into the shop and make their own parts with guidance from a few of us at the school.

The students had to design their own parts, and when the kid who eventually graduated and went to Olin College before graduating from there and getting his dream job at Tesla was designing the parts we machined a lot of pretty nice stuff.
Now the team's lead students are closer to the normal/genius line of life, so a lot of what they do consists of buying aluminum extruded rails and kit motors and gear boxes combined with a liberal sprinkling of McMaster-Carr components. That's quite alright. When you've only got six weeks to build and box up a robot for competition, relying on custom components is really risky if you're not a gifted designer and engineer.