What's new
What's new

Potential pitfalls...running business for owner for 2 yrs...purchase at the end

masome

Hot Rolled
I have posted before about trying to buy the business that I work for(6 employees). After speaking to my CPA a couple years ago and looking at the asking price, we were light years apart (400k). Fortunately, we kept things civil and no hard feelings developed.

Fast forward a couple years and they sit me down and tell me they just want to be done with daily operations and want me to run the company for 2 years while paying them 3-4k per month. At the end of the 2 years a price will be determined and the money I have been paying them for the last two years will go towards the purchase. The tone seems to have definitely changed since we last spoke about this, but I am still concerned that we could be far apart.

What advice can you give about a scenario such as this? How much should I ask for compensation, since my responsibilities will be greatly increased? Could my request for extra compensation be an insult since they seem to by trying pretty hard to sell me the business?

As always I appreciate the input.

I would like to know the purchase price before I began. No way I would invest my time and money for 2 years without have any idea what the price will be.

They want you to pay them, while they still own the business? and we'll determine the price later on? What would you say to car dealer that suggested you send him a couple of grand and after two years he'll tell you the price? That is just mental.