What's new
What's new

Prospective owner for advice

inpogress

Plastic
Hello everyone and thank you for taking the time to look at my post. I am new to this forum, and am here seeking advice from any and all available minds.

To start off, I'll give a brief introduction. I am a CNC programmer, currently working for a small business in a particularly niche sector of the manufacturing industry. There have been an increasing number of "red flags" appearing in this shop over the past few years. It has reached a point, that myself and a coworker have found ourselves having many off-the-clock chats about things that need to change. Without going into too much detail, the company I work for has lost a lot of respect with our current customer base, which has resulted in the growth of our main competition, and the slowest "busy season" of my tenure. My prospective partner and I have decided it is time to branch out.

Between the two of us, we have just over 20 years of experience in our current sector, and nearly 40 years of total manufacturing experience. We are not "green" when it comes to our business plan. We also have two key employees that will join our team from day one. As individuals, we each have good name recognition with the customer base, as well as connections to other types of machine work. I myself am the type of person, that I will put a cot in the office and sleep there to ensure that machines are running as much as possible to push parts out the door. I have gotten up at 2 AM to come to the shop, just to rotate a part and start the next long running program.

This leads me to why I'm here. Neither of us have experience setting up a business. So my thought is, rather than blindly trudging through the mud alone, why not reach out to people who have "been there done that" for advice?

So here is the good stuff: