What's new
What's new

Questions on quoting job??

cgmaster

Cast Iron
I am fairly new to quoting jobs but have had 2 people say my price was nuts. One was simple job for 200 shafts of 1541h steel 6 inch diameter to cut 3 each 2 inch diameter holes. Punched it into inventor and cut time was about 18 minutes to spot drill, drill, rough milling, bore and then debur for each shaft. I figured $15 each. I usually base my quotes on estimated cutting time in inventor.

The super simple approach is: material cost + programming cost + machining cost + tooling cost + setup time = price.

I'd say a pretty typical shop rate for machining time is $60/hr (i.e. $1/minute) so at $15/each on these, if your 18 minute cycle time is accurate, I'd guess you're losing money at the end of the day (after accounting for material, programming, tooling, and setup.)

So maybe they meant your price was 'nuts' because it was too low, and not too high? Or maybe they're just dreamers who have no idea how much something should actually cost. Or maybe they're used to dealing with guys running clapped out machines in dingy holes who are all racing to the bottom on price?

All that said, 6 minutes each for a 2 inch hole sounds like I'm either missing something important, or like there should be a faster way to do it (but it's impossible to tell without a print.)

"Nuts" ?
As in too high ?

Purchasing agents always say this, they want you to make the parts, and pay them.

See if you get the job after the smoke clears.

What's your floor-to-floor time ?

Add 15% or so to that, multiply by your hourly rate.

Materials involved too ?

Did you forget the material cost?

consumables?

Surely, you have a shop rate that covers "your cost" per hour to run a job.

I worked at a place where the owner had a shop rate for each machine, then shop consumables were added in.