What's new
What's new

Quiting because of safety concerns

jtroto

Plastic
I'm looking for advice or support,

I have been working at my current job for 18 months am at a point in my current job where I feel that my boss in unconcerned with safety and that it is a matter of time before somebody in my workplace is seriously injured. Our machine shop is without a designated manager, safety officer, or any sort of leadership and I have been trying my best to fill the roles as best that I can, but my boss won't give me any authority to enforce rules or mandate training for employees. I even wrote a new shop manual which is up to date with the most basic company and government standards to replace the one-page front and back shop manual that has been used here for years. I've told my boss time and again about problem employees who are risking serious bodily injure, informed him of practices which are damaging equipment and using supplies too quickly, and asked him once a week for the past four months to approve the new shop manual, but he has yet to make any changes to how we operate. He says he cares about safety, but he has done absolutely nothing action-wise to indicate that is true.

Barring a complete turnaround in his views on safety, I'm going to give him my letter of resignation at the end of the week. I don't want to blow the whistle to HR because it may affect my friends who still work for him, but I also have to make it clear to my future employers exactly why I left this job.

How should I word my resignation, and how do I justify my decision to future employers? Any other advice or thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,

A letter... "I hope I can find another job.. Wish me luck.."

Making waves does little for next job recommendations.
Bigger shop likely to have all the rules you would like and perhaps pay $45 an hour and full benefits and with ....
Machines unsafe or people practices?
Dumb bosses are common..
Dumb workers are just as common..