What's new
What's new

Rating me as an employee.

mancavedweller

Aluminum
Wondering where you experienced shop owners would place me (i.e. as an employee) at this point in time. I'm relatively new to this game and have had a whopping 4 full months of work in an engineering job shop. OK, stop laughing.

Prior to this I was running my own small excavation business, and prior to that I was an electrician on both offshore and onshore oil/gas well drilling rigs.

So how the hell did I get a position in a job shop. Well the owner knew me from social circles and we'd often discuss (more like argue LOL) mainly about CNC plasma, and other engineering stuff. I've built my own cnc plasma table, bought a big lathe and mill, and self taught myself everything I know from forums, web searching, Youtube, and mainly old school books. The shop owner offered me a job because he thought I had the right attitude to do OK in his shop. He knew I did all my own repairs/maintenance - line boring, stripping down hydraulic motors/pumps, rebuilding hydraulic rams, complete slew ring changeout (excavator), built a plant trailer, etc.

Anyway, apart from sweeping the floor and deburring parts when needed, I do some basic work on the manual lathes, and the milling machines. I've got to the stage of running two cnc milling machines and one cnc lathe. So what do I mean by "running" them ?

CNC LATHE:
Well I'm not doing the programming except for some basic programming at the cnc lathe itself. Example, writing a stock removal program for turning soft jaws, or doing internal/external turning, and facing. I did play with making a threaded cone and it simulated good.
I'll install suitable jaws, turn soft jaws to suit the job, calibrate the jaw positions.
Program the auto bar feeder, and set up the bushings in the lathe spindle to suit the bar diameter.