What's new
What's new

Recommended reading material for someone interested in opening a shop.

zberto

Plastic
Hello everyone,

I have always pondered the idea of opening a small job-shop machine shop. In the past it has been mere musings without any regard to the actual nuts and bolts , i.e. a business plan, equipment, space, cash flows, financing, marketing, etc. etc. These are the things that have to be considered before one dives in. The numbers must work for it to be a profitable venture, and even than there are many unforeseeables which can derail something which looked good on paper.

The employment game in the in this country sucks and the trend is only getting worse. These days its work longer and harder for less in return. Not too mention the fact that in order to succeed in today's modern company one must be able to navigate the ever changing kaleidoscope of peoples egos and emotions and their ever shifting alliances and priorities. I'm an engineer and a machinist, not a psychologist and politician.

I have my designs on opening a small shop and eventually transitioning over to a niche product once things get rolling. I have money stuffed away that will help in securing machinery or a loan. Also I have no dependents. The manufacturing marketplace is brutal, however I have worked enough places to see what works and what doesn't. The winners I have worked for all had a lot in common in terms of company culture and the mechanics of how they operated. My goal would be to emulate these things that worked.

I have a general understanding of finance, accounting, and business management however those are not my strong points. I would be interested in hearing some recommendations for reading material for the little guy.

I am not looking to get fabulously rich although that would be sweet, rather I want to be able to live comfortably and be able to grow my business in a healthy manner.