What's new
What's new

Starting a new shop/manufacturing business.

PoorMan

Aluminum
How would one typically get started in manufacturing? I have always been interested in designing and building products. I have the back ground in farming and machine shop work to help get me started. I still dont know much, but I have a plan to start with building farm equipment and doing repairs. My area still has many smaller farmers who dont want to pay high prices for equipment from big manufacturers. Usually they buy used or find something cheap, but low quality.

Being that I farm for a living, Id rather build a relationship with potential customers through high quality, but low price equipment. Innovative add-ons for existing equipment commercially manufactured such as combines, tractors, etc., hay equipment, trailers, livestock equipment, etc. is the market Im looking for. I would love to start manufacturing larger equipment such as tractors in 30 years if it got that direction through innovative design that is not currently done or by building things that are not currently built because of design limitations that could be worked around. Id be okay with only making enough to pay for the capital purchase, labor, and maybe a few extra bucks after that. I own the land and buildings already. I have most things as far as repair equipment goes already, but Id really like to get a mill, lathe, pipe bender, sheet metal roller & brake & shear, and CNC plasma cutter in the next couple of years at a minimum.

The biggest thing I worry about is how to manage everything. I have a "plan" for what to build and where, but not necessarily the rate of growth, how big to start out with, if I should invest heavily in manufacturing equipment immediately or work my way up to it slowly, and what would be considered the most important thing to remember with everything. Im only 20 so financials aren't strong necessarily, but I also have a lot of time to build up a business if I can do it right.