Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by RC Mech View Post
    You’re not wrong.

Also, Laurier U doesn’t help the OP as it lacks an Applied/Physical Science Faculty. Great school otherwise.
    I am a Waterloo engineering grad, I challenged the tool And die making ticket after I had graduated university mostly just to see if I could pass. We have hired two U of W engineers in the last 6 month and we have been running an add at Conestoga college for months as well. A good friend of mine teaches at the college and I have tried the trick of creaming off the most promising apprentice in the tool and die program but I was not able to convince the kid to leave his perfectly good job.

I imagine the kind of person I need ends up choosing the white collar option over the blue collar option so they leave school without the ability to machine anything. It is going to be hard for me to teach machining from scratch while spending 80% of my time in the office doing the engineering part of my job.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by DMF_TomB View Post
    i prefer work in a nice climatic controlled shop doing jobs where boss has reasonable expectations and pays more money
    i aint kidding get a better job and in 5 years put extra $200,000 in 401k after you get enough basically can retire any time. no big deal loosing job as already got enough to live on forever growing faster than inflation rate.
    that alone is most peoples biggest worry. not worry about loosing a job and working only cause i want to work makes day go by being more fun.