What's new
What's new

TPC Training Systems vs 9-12mo Schooling?

DJ Berg

Plastic
Not sure if this is the place to post this, and if not please move to the correct forum and i appologize in advance.

Life has changed the path I had been on, and now owning a house, moving is not an option. The local job market around me is either machining/factory based or lumber based.

I am a hobby machinist with a a good grasp on mechanics(no where near a master, more of a jack of all trades). So it seems that going into a machine shop type environment is the path to choose.

My question is this as employers, what are your opinions on TPC online training systems vs the standard xyz institute of technology(local trade school).

As I myself would be going for Electro-Mechanical Technology, since i feel that would suit me best, and a few more dollars an hr. Though i would love to get a secondary cert in cnc machining, since the more I know how things work, the easier they are to diagnose. But that would double the debt, and in all reality, a full on electronics cert as well, since the class is very broad, and not very specialized at all.

Now comes the other part debt... 9 months, and $10-20k of debt with the trade school, or $40/mo for online classes, and i pick what i want to learn, but no actual hands on experience. Also it does not seem like you receive any actual certification(still researching this part).

Any and all input is greatly apresheated, and it would be awesome to be able to get certified from home, on my time allowing me to work full time, plus not acquire more freaking debt.

Thanks DJ

Machine shop work is "different".. Its more of a trade...

A $10k "certificate" isn't going to get you shit as far as I'm concerned... To me, and
in my experience it just means that I have to spend more time UN-training you and then
RE-training you...

As for being a trade... you pretty much have to start at the bottom... A piece of paper may get