What's new
What's new

Unpaid, off the clock rework

Status
Not open for further replies.

TGA-Bucko

Plastic
Hello Forum,
I am in a bit of a pickle. I am a setup machinist working at a small job shop in California. I am involved in a hot project and it's become the worst nightmare.
The situation in a nutshell is I produced bad parts and now I am being asked to work off the clock to replace them.
I worked 6 hours today free, and I suspect that I am going to be expected to continue next week until all the parts are good.
Thing is I am working with unfamiliar material (molybdenum tzm) and the programmer/ foreman and inspector both are over seeing my work and buying it off.
What would you do?

Two words: fuck that.

Don't work another second for free. Demand to be paid for any time you have already worked, including overtime if you would normally have overtime. If anyone gives you shit, call the labor bureau for your state. Any employer is required to pay for all hours worked. No exceptions.

Everybody screws up once in a while. It's part of doing business. The company owners assume all risk for the work of their employees. No exceptions.

I recently saw an add for concrete truck drivers. They require one week of unpaid training. That's so illegal it makes my head spin.

I once worked for a large company who required employees to wear uniforms. You could not wear your uniform outside of the workplace. They required you to change clothes and then clock in. Reverse at the end of the day. They received a huge fine and were forced to compensate all employees going back 10 years for any time spent changing clothes. They were forced to let you clock in and then change.

I've reworked the odd project for free as a point of pride.
You pay for top work you get top work was my moto.
(If that was smart or not is another questions)

But to be told to re work for free? Absolutely not. That is the owners risk he takes in business.