What's new
What's new

Wanting to start a small shop, common question I'm sure, advice appreciated!

RevK

Plastic
So my background. I'm 28 years old, The job i just left I was the Mold tooling shop manager. Im a mechanical designer and machine programmer. In my three years at the shop i learned so much working with top notch machinist. Well i left for greener pastures, now i program a waterjet... make some fixtures and what not. but its all production machines, really nice ones, but i don't do much with them. I miss a job shop, i miss machinist, i miss learning and here, i just realized how much i miss working around conventional and cnc machines, never the same part twice, always a challenge. Learning all the ins and outs of the equipment, having intimate knowledge of all its inner workings ( Fadals... so they were disassembled every day! lol:D ).

So long story long. I feel drawn to a job shop and i want to try to work some on my own. this is in its infancy so its actually seeing if i can swing it. I guess my real question for yall is, as owners of shops big and small. What was the biggest hurdle? what would you want to do differently, What matters the most in the early days?

I'm still trying to see if its feasible, but i've always known i belong running my own business. And i love designing and making parts, prototyping. so.. ill turn it over to yall! Thanks for taking the time!

While your still employed I'd start building up an inventory of machines before venturing out into the great unknown. My minimum machine inventory would be
4020 (or larger) size VMC (FADAL or similar $10-$25k in good shape)
16x40 (or so) manual lathe ($3k-$8K)
Bridgeport with DRO ($2k-$4k)
CNC lathe (mori seiki sl3 or similar)($4k-$10k)
24x36 surface plate
mics/bore mics/height gages etc
angle plates etc

If you had the space it would also be nice to have
Hardinge HLV-H or monarch 10EE
Sunnen Hone
EDM sinker
EDM wire
Surface grinder
id/od grinder

Good luck!

Biggest hurdle: