What's new
What's new

What is your Machine shop policy on food and drink on the shop floor?

SwissPR0

Plastic
Hi Everyone,
This could be a touchy subject to some and a no brainer for others...
I work in a shop that machines parts for mostly medical and aerospace industry. I would like to know what is the current industry standard for manufacturing on having any food or beverage in the shop?

I handle our employee handbook, training, safety etc. That being said, I can't say I've ever known this issue to come up. I guess I'd say it falls under common sense. You can't work and eat at the same time, being a machinist isn't a desk job. Likewise, who even wants to risk getting the kind of debris / chemicals we all work around anywhere near their food? I'll admit to occasionally having a dixie cup of shop coffee perched on the headstock of a lathe, but it's also just asking for chips or coolant to land in it.

If it's a problem in your shop, there should be no issue with stating no food on the shop floor. I assume you have a lunch room / break room. I wouldn't worry about dancing around the subject, make a rule, announce it, and enforce it; problem should soon be over.

Around here I have been one to eat at a machine. Long cycles that require someone to be present the whole time tend to be opportune times to work thru lunch take the extra pay and eat at the machine. That said it comes down to general shop cleanliness. However being a medical manufacturer I'm sure they dont want jelly coated heart valves.

We pour hot aluminum and that don't mix well with other liquids. No cans bottles on the floor. Styrofoam cups is it. Food is OK but you don't want to sit it down. It's nasty out there.

Brent

[h=2]What is your Machine shop policy on food and drink on the shop floor?[/h]
Pick it up, throw it in the trash, and mop up the mess on the floor when you're done!

Yup.....that about sums it up!

:D