What's new
What's new

OT: Shop Owners - Does Willingness To Learn and Succeed Go Anywhere?

apt403

Cast Iron
First of all: Sorry for all the background info (my main question is in the last two paragraphs). Secondly, NOT trying to get a job, I just want to know if I'm crazy or not to be considering this!

For the past couple years, I've been working for a small outfit designing and prototyping new products. I take things from initial conception all the way into production – CAD, circuit board design, machining prototypes, testing, submitting RFQs and purchasing, vetting suppliers and vendors, tech. support, it's all on me. I get input from the owner of the company about usage requirements and ease of use, but actually getting the stuff designed and made is what I do.

Not trying to toot my own horn, but I'm pretty proud of my work. I'm self-taught all the way. That has some disadvantages – I'm limited in not being exposed to other's experience. But that's what college is for. I'm 21 and planning on starting up again this winter. I moved from California to Washington and had to focus on paying the bills in a new state.

A while back, we lost a couple employees to other opportunities, and I took on their responsibilities. I went from design/prototyping and light production into design/prototyping/customer service/shipping/receiving/full-time production. There was a concomitant pay raise, but I feel like I'm topped out ($14/hour). With the company as small as this, everyone's got a pretty good idea of what each other makes, and I'm not too far away from the most senior employee.