What's new
What's new

cnc retrofit

bigIron

Plastic
Hi everyone,

I have a Van Norman #12 ram-type (head pivots from horizontal to vertical, no quill) mill. I would say that it needs to be adjusted only, but for a 60 year old machine it's in quite good shape (origional paint, despite its fair share of blemishes.. no rust). I'm hoping if I adjust it correctly I can get some of the excessive play out of the X-axis handwheel, as well as make the knee a little less of a workout to raise and lower. Y axis is perfect.

Anyway, I'm a poor college student and I'm becomming addicted to machinist hobbies rather quickly in my spare time. I am considering retrofiting my VN to CNC as there is no chance of me getting anything more modern for a long time. My question for you gentleman is this:

Is it even practical to convert such an old beast to CNC considering its rare spindle taper (5V) and perhaps other undesirable aspects I am probably not even aware of?

here is a link that shows a #12 exactly like mine:
http://home.att.net/~JEKasunich/vannorman/VN_Home.htm

If it you guys think it is worth it, and asuming I'm successfull in correcting some of its issues, what kind of torque would I need in stepper motors? Do I have to buy something huge to lift the knee, or can I just gear down?

Thanks for reading my long winded question!
Scott

PS> Bought this mill at an estate auction with 5hp phase converter for $200.

Um, yeah - that could be retrofitted. I wouldn't use steppers, though - I would use servos. I make a post about it over here:

http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net//Forum1/HTML/010644.html

Hmm... Looks small enough that taking off the table wouldn't be such a burden... I think that a ballscrew upgrade might be in order, as the first thing. As you have more time than money, see what you can scrounge at industrial surplus places in your area, and on ebay. Also, check this guy's site out:

http://www.homeshopcnc.com/