What's new
What's new

Dry Ice Blasting...

john111

Plastic
Hi everyone. I am an engineering student. I read something called dry ice blasting while browsing net. Well I don’t know why, but I am curious to know about it. I know about traditional labor intensive methods like scrapers, wire brushes, sand blasting and pressure washing. I know dry ice is basically solid form of CO2, but I have no clue about this dry ice blasting.
Can somebody throw some light on this or at least suggest some site where I can find some info on this.

Sam.

Well its basically a from of media blasting which uses dry ice as the abrasive. Very useful in an enclosed environment where removal of the residual media would be difficult. The dry ice sublimates almost instantly so it is very clean. Think of an attic in a house that has had a mold problem, blast the rafters with dry ice to remove the mold, very little to clean up. It is a fairly light abrasive and also very useful if you want to avoid heat build up in the part being blasted like very thin sheet metal.

J

I work in the auto industry. An application of this process is used to clean up welding fixtures. Supplier MIG welds stampings into components and over time the weld spatter builds up on the fixture causing potential issues with loading parts and operation of clamps. The crushed dry ice is basically blasted onto the weld fixtures to clean up the weld spatter. The beauty is that no further cleanup is required.

It's also used extensively in the semiconductor industry - when one has a vacuum
chamber that is coated inside with 'overspray' from PVD processes, sometimes the
stuff is toxic and if the insides are blasted with regular media, the entire resulting
mess has to be disposed of as toxic waste.

With CO2 all that's left is the small batch of debris that used to be on the walls.

Jim

Blasting With Dry Ice