What's new
What's new

drilling large holes in steel with a hand drill?

md21722

Plastic
Hi,

I am somewhat new to using hand drills to drill steel. I was using the drill speed charts and found that bits were getting hot enough to smoke heavy sulphur based cutting oil. As an example, I was trying to drill a 1/2" hole through ~ 3/16" thick low carbon steel at 700 RPM. The bits always caught at the end throwing the drill around and often chipping the bit.

After trial and error, I tried drilling much slower than the drill speed charts would suggest. The results were amazing. Bits seem to last longer and they don't bind at the end.

My theory is that its almost impossible to apply enough pressure with a pistol grip drill to justify the higher speeds.

I am wondering if my theory is correct.

If anyone wants to entertain me some more, I have been using air drills for this work. Most of the major players offer drills in 0.4, 0.6, and 0.9 HP. I am wondering why this is necessary for hand drills, because its hard to apply enough force to warrant all the power? Do you really need a 0.9HP hand drill? If it catches I would think all its going to do is try to break your wrist faster. But clearly folks like Sioux and Dotco make these for a reason.

Thanks!

You're going to have a hell of a time pushing a 1/2 drill through steel with a hand drill. Try drilling with a smaller drill first. Use a drill just a little bigger than the chisel tip on the large drill. You may even go up in three steps for large drills. I've found even trying to drill 1/4 with a hand drill is best started with something smaller. 118 degree bits are going to break thru less violently than 135 degree. Still it's always a trick handling the breakthrough. Plus half the time the bit spins in the chuck too. Anyway... start smaller.