What's new
What's new

100% new to lathes, need some help/advice on used South Bend heavy 10

kithnelso

Plastic
Hi, I am completely new to lathes and would greatly appreciate some advice. I farm on the NE plains of CO and would like to find a lathe to have some fun with, and hopefully learn enough to use for odd jobs here and there around the farm. I have never operated a lathe, and I realize I have a lot to learn. However I have been researching for a while, and I like the sound of a South Bend heavy 10. Low and behold one came up that is within decent driving distance of me, but I have no idea what to look for as to condition. I have attached some pictures and a video that show a little bit of the lathe. I realize that these pictures and video are not nearly enough to tell much about condition, and some of the main parts(gears, etc) are not even shown at all, but as I have no idea what I am looking for I thought I would post these and see if anyone saw any obvious signs of trouble. Firstly in this video: vlc record 217 11 14 18h21m13s South Bend Heavy 1 Lathe VFD mp4 - YouTube it shows the lathe running, and it sounds to me like the bearings could possibly be making excess noise, again not sure please let me know what you think of the sound. The next possible issue is the gib on the saddle (I'm using a youtube video for reference here). In the video I watched, the guy mentions that the gib is sticking out a long ways which means it has not been screwed in to take up any wear. I circled the plug that the guy in the video called the gib.
sc1.jpg
It appears to me as though this "gib" is missing from the lathe I found for sale. I'm sure I could find a new one to put in, but would this indicate a larger problem, or excessive wear? Here is a picture of the lathe for sale with an empty hole where the other one had an allen head plug. I have also circled what looks like some cracks on one of the other pulleys, not sure if this would be a problem.
gibMissing.jpg