What's new
What's new

10K Question and Advice

Keithw

Plastic
Can anyone tell me what this rod on the back of the headstock is for? It is preventing the lid from opening, how do I get the lid open.
IMG_2327.jpg

Now for the advice part. I acquired this late from a deceased friend. I do not know the history of it or how much use it has. I am new to the lathe world. I want to go through it to be sure all the bearings are ok, replace felts, etc and paint it. Problem is I have several projects going and need to use it. So, before powering it up, what should I look for and do to ensure all is ok? I have bought the replacement felts and the book to go along with it as well as the book 'How to Run a Lathe." Any pointers are much appreciated.

Keith

The belt tension to the head stock must be released be before you can open the top cover. The rod is an interlock to prevent the lid being open when running.

If you can show us more pictures of the machine, to show its condition, we can better advise you.

Don't assume you must start tearing it apart yet. Too many get into trouble trying to "improve" things without knowing what they're doing.

Pete

Thanks for the reply Pete. I do have the belt tensioner released on the side of the cabinet so there is no tension on the belt. Will check it again and hopefully get the cover open. Once I do that I will send more pics.

Thanks again.
Keith

Attached are some photos that hopefully provide an experienced eye a glimpse of what kind of use this machine has had. Suggestions on preventative maintenance before I fire it up?Front 2.jpgFront.jpgGears 2.jpgGears.jpgHeadstock 1.jpg.

Thanks,
Keith

Also, the cross slide that came with the machine had a crack in it. I purchased a 'new' one from e-bay and need to transfer the screw. How do I get the piece on the end out of the 'new' slide so that the screw can be installed? Is it pressed in?Cross Slide.jpg

P.S. how do I get the photos to show right side up same as I put them in??

Keith