What's new
What's new

1943 South Bend 16" x 60" Lathe Resurrection

thomasutley

Hot Rolled
All,

I'm starting a new 16" South Bend restoration thread today. After several other excellent 10L/13/14.5/16 style restorations beautifully documented by others on this forum, I'm honest enough to doubt my restoration log will benefit many besides myself as I face challenges with my own machine. However, adding to the body of knowledge that is fast disappearing as these machines, and the people who know how to operate and maintain them, age is always a good thing and perhaps I'll ask the same question another needs answered. If nothing else, another documented rebuild may be the motivation someone needs to make the leap and save one more machine from the scrappers.

I will note at the outset I'm not a machinist by trade. I love machines and appreciate the skillset it takes to design, build, operate, and maintain them. I'm a mechanical engineer who doesn't get to do much engineering anymore after being tempted years ago by the lure of management salaries to offset management stresses. My home shop is where I find ways to get back to what I was once good at. Along with a partner, my best friend from college, I also design tools and have have licensed a few with more in the works now. The small royalties generated from that business venture are what pay for my tool acquisitions. This lathe, once restored, will further that endeavor as a means of prototyping new designs. Eventually I'll add a mill into the mix as budgets permit.

This will be my second lathe restoration. The first was on Milacron's list of unmentionables. Hopefully jumping straight to a 16" x 60" will at least win me points for ambition.

Tom

This post will serve as background on the machine so that anyone reading the thread can determine if it's going to worth their time reading further.