What's new
What's new

4 Jaw Chuck Recommendations for a SB 9?

Domodude17

Aluminum
Probably going to pick up a South Bend 9 Model A sometime soon. It comes with a 3 jaw chuck and collet closer/collets. I would definitely want to get a 4 jaw chuck for it. I think I want to stay away from used ones or ones on ebay. I am a novice and wouldn't really know how to tell a good chuck from a bad one. Can anyone recommend a model or brand that won't break the bank? I am just a hobbyist so I don't need the best chuck money can buy. Are there any import models that are of relatively good quality?

Lightweight, thin is better than a 35 pound 4 jaw that sticks out too far and chatters so much you cant do anything without tailstock support.

While a new 4 jaw is nice, there arnt many fundamental reasons why an old one wont be just as good, particularly at the light cuts you can take with a sb 9.

Probably going to pick up a South Bend 9 Model A sometime soon. It comes with a 3 jaw chuck and collet closer/collets. I would definitely want to get a 4 jaw chuck for it. I think I want to stay away from used ones or ones on ebay. I am a novice and wouldn't really know how to tell a good chuck from a bad one. Can anyone recommend a model or brand that won't break the bank? I am just a hobbyist so I don't need the best chuck money can buy. Are there any import models that are of relatively good quality?

Vertex. Nominally Taiwan, CNC goods may mostly still be. Known to also have a factory in PRC as well. Still value for money until you need better.

4J are "forgiving" of build accuracy. A SB 9 doesn't make enough stress or run at high enough RPM to harm these. You can buy better, later, if need be.

Correct to avoid used ones. Bell-mouthed, most, side-wobble as well, worn screws and retainers. even cracked or sprung bodies from crashes.

Besides.. we OF's have gotten most of the good ones already, years ago, and are not selling ours!

:D