What's new
What's new

9" cross slide issue

Dave9

Plastic
Hi all,

I find myself in need of some help with a cross slide issue on my 9" SB. I've been reading the forum for a few years now, but I've never posted as I'm just a hobbyist, and never really had anything to add in the way of advice or answers. Hopefully this will help some other people out with reassembly or rebuilding.

I'm not sure what model the lathe is. It has the two lever, quick change gear box, and apron with the automatic longitudinal and cross feed. This lathe was put together from surplus parts by a machinist, and I believe it did not come with these accessories originally, and I've consulted the army lathe manual, and there are a few more parts in the cross slide parts stack up that aren't listed there.

I recently tore down the carriage so I could clean everything up after a little adventure machining some cast iron. I cleaned the chip pan out first, so if I dropped anything, I would notice, and I wouldn't have to hunt around for it.

Upon re-assembly, I end up with about .040 of "endplay" in the cross slide. I can grab the cross slide and pull it back and forth, and there is a gap between the handle and the dial.
cross slide dial.JPG

Before taking this apart, there was no gap there, but there was about .015 backlash. The top slide had about .013 backlash, but after re-assembly, there is only about .003, with no gaps anywhere in the assembly.
top slide dial.JPG

Here is the cross slide laid out.
cross slide screw.jpg

I don't notice those washers in front of the bushing in the Army lathe manual. Just after the spline gear on the screw, the two ground washers go on, then there is a little groove. The diameter of the screw changes there, so that the bushing will not slide on all the way and touch the washers. Then there is a washer and needle bearing stack-up, then the dial, then the handle and the nut.