What's new
What's new

9" South Bend Jr Change Gears

Mgrder1

Aluminum
Hey Guys,
This is my first post to this sight and I am the proud new owner of an old 9” South Bend Jr lathe. I am far from an expert on machining and I am just now learning how to operate a lathe. From what I can tell, my lathe seems to be in decent shape for its age and there is nothing “wrong” with it other than the usual mess you’d find with an old machine that’s been sitting for years. I am about to start a complete restore in the coming days and right now I am trying to round up parts and trying to gain as much knowledge as possible before I start. I’ve restored a number woodworking machines such as a table saw, drill press, jointer, band saw, etc. so I am aware that a metal lathe is a completely different animal.
Based on what I have been able the gather/ read (mostly on this sight) is that my lathe was manufactured around 1928. The Catalog No. is 22-Z with S/N: 37629. I will have a million questions when I get into the actual restore but for now I’m trying to put together a ball park budget of how much its going to cost to have it fully operational. When I purchased the lathe, it did not come with the change gears and I have not been able to find a full set on ebay or anywhere else. From what I’ve read, it sounds like the regular 9” SB Lathe used gears with a 9/16” bore and were slimmer in width than the 9” jr lathe gears. Please correct me if I am wrong, the 9” Jr needs 5/8”x1/2” gears? My questions is, Can I buy the gears for a regular 9” and bore the ID out and broach a new key way to fit the jr., Or are the gears totally different pitch/diameter? Any help with this idea or where I can find a replacement set that will work would be a big help. IMG_5115.jpg

If I remember correctly , they are a different dp . ( tooth count +2 divided by diameter ).
I sold a set on eBay a couple of years ago for just under $200 .