What's new
What's new

9" South Bend spindle....is it toast??

angryyank

Plastic
Hey All,

I just picked up this old South Bend, I believe its a 405. I pulled the spindle out for inspection and this is what I found. Is there any way to repair this? Should I even try? Maybe just replace the head stock and spindle. I was hoping I could press in a brass sleve and turn down the spindle slightly. What do you Guys think. I am a big time rookie.

WayneIMAG0732.jpgIMAG0733.jpg

It does not look that bad.
There is a lot of support there in the undamaged areas.
The general consensus in a number of threads like this is *very* carefully stone off any burrs and then just use it.
Make sure that you put in new wicks and use proper oil.

Trying to put in a bushing and turning down the spindle would definitely yield much worse results then running it as is.

Josh

I have seen much worse. I agree with josh knock off the burrs put it back together and use it. It will be accurate and it will run just fine. Dont let your imgination get ahold of you. I have machines in my shop that are horribly scored and I use them everyday and they work just fine. Some people just cant stand to own something that is not perfect it drives them nuts they dwell on it and it consumes all their thoughts. It is just an old lathe you bought it to use not to turn into a shrine of precision. I have had some amazing lathes in my shop but my favorite is a beat down W&S turret lathe. It makes me more money than the prom queens I used to worship.

After some of the ones I've had, I would think you were gloating about that one. You won't even need a mill file, you lucky dog.

That one must have been garage kept, I don't see any areas where it was rusted to the bushing.

Just think of the small scored areas as storage for oil so the good spots never starve.

Ben

jkopel; Trying to put in a bushing and turning down the spindle would definitely yield much worse results then running it as is. Josh[/QUOTE said: