What's new
What's new

9A or Heavy 10?

Submachine

Aluminum
I am looking for someone that can help to compare and contrast a 9A versus a Heavy 10. I would like details, ie. spindal speeds, thread options, weights etc..

I am replacing a piece of crap import that I have in my basement ( going to get the torch out and create some modern art). I have a SB16 with 8 ft bed but it is in another building that I don’t heat and it’s a 1/3 of a mile away (I am a farmer). I believe either a heavy 10 or a 9A would be easy to move to the basement.

Thanks

Last edited:
Wow, that's a loaded question. There are significant generations and styles of these lathes, plus you did not include the light 10 (10K), which is just a larger 9 with a slightly larger swing. Some of these came with cabinets, some without. Some with behind drives and some with below drives. These are all very light duty, take a small floor footprint and can be very accurate. None of them like carbide tools. They don't have either sufficient speed or stiffness. They are all lightweight and can be moved easily down stairs. They are very numerous and popular, but many are clapped out with worn beds. The newer models have flame hardened beds and are superior to the older variety. I own a 10K that I bought new directly from SB in 1980 and I love it, but its lightness makes it NOT suitable for my go to, general purpose machine. If this was to be my only lathe, it would be a 13 x 40 modern, 3 HP machine. The footprint would only be slightly larger, but hugely more useful.